Silent Noise Revolution

fragile piano on a bed of abstract noise

Fragile piano

on a bed of abstract noise


Join the quiet revolution.

Silent Noise Revolution is

a project of belgian composer

Jan De Block

About Silent Noise Revolution


Silent Noise Revolution is an answer to today's loud and intrusive music.

The first track was released in January 2016. Since then, a new track is released every month. The absence of obvious melody lines makes the music more inward and filmic. During the conception, Jan sometimes starts writing a track around a melody line, to delete the melody line again at a later stage.


There is a parallel with the movies that Jan likes: suggestive rather than explicit. Open ends makes the story go on in our imagination.

The strongest dialogues are the unspoken words.


In march 2016, "A New Day", the 3rd release of Silent Noise Revolution, was selected by Nils Frahm to feature in his "piano day 2016" playlist.


About 10 years ago, Jan met Odette Di Maio from Milano, Italy. That triggered him to move his focus from commercial music to songwriting. Odette became his writing partner, and together they founded "Miss O". Their debut album Infection (2012) was received very well by the italian music press. Since then, Miss O released an EP (2014), a double single (2015), and a new album is planned for 2017.


Miss O was finalist at OZU film festival 2012 with an original Miss O score for the first Alice in Wonderland movie. Their song "Nightride" features in the soundtrack of award winning movie "46,XX".


Jan is co-writer/producer of "KYOKO", the first solo album of Kyoko Baertsoen (Hooverphonic, Conjure One, Buscemi, Allez Allez), released on March 8, 2017. 2 songs of Kyoko and Jan feature in award winning movie "46,XX" under project name "Double Vie".

Until 10 years ago, Jan was mainly into "30 seconds" music (international commercials, TV shows, ..). Since then, he decided to change his focus to artistic projects.



In 2015, Jan was selected as finalist for the speeddating between composers and directors, organized by the Brussels Film Festival.

In 2016, a Silent Noise Revolution track was selected by Nils Frahm to feature in his "piano day 2016" playlist.

Also in 2017, Silent Noise Revolution appears on Nils Frahm's "piano day 2017" playlist.